when Huz got me roses….

….I thought they needed to be immortalized. Such a rare occasion definitely should be! (and no, this post is NOT about my husbands sense of romance….I used to emotionally blackmail him into getting me flowers….cos I really like them. They’re so pretty! But I don’t anymore….emotionally blackmail him, that is…if i want flowers, I go get them myself. And that’s fine too. Though I realize he will read this post and feel blackmailed again. Heh heh. That’s fine too)

So, the day after a long gone birthday, I made these quick watercolours, trying to capture the shades of yellow, peach and orange merging into red at the edges.

Here they are, for what they’re worth, framed and hung near the entrance to the house.

I should have you know, this post was inspired by Patty over at meandering minds…...she is an amazing woman who is working on her watercolor skills even as she fractured her collarbone three times in the past two months!!! (give or take a few weeks)

I don’t know how she manages to produce a blog post through the haze of extreme pain that envelops her these days, but she does. I tip my hat to her.

And this goes out to my lovely fellow bloggers who wanted to see more of the artwork scattered around my house. It’s a great theme, (meaning I don’t need to put words to the myriad difficult thoughts churning through my head every day…..call it a cop out) and I have a couple more up my sleeve. Stay tuned please.

1

2

3

24 responses to “when Huz got me roses….

  1. they’re just lovely, munira. i love yellow roses, there are so many colours in them!!
    and I’d say Huz is off the hook, absolutely. He brought this beautiful source to you, now you have it for all eternity. next. he can bring some hydrangeas. :-)

    • It’s so much fun to look at a color and see more than the obvious! And translating that onto paper with paints is magical, especially watercolours, because you never know how the colours will merge and develop.

      Yeah yeah, he’s off the hook :P

      But oooh…..hydrangeas…..wonder how they’d fare in Karachi climes…

  2. Good God, the roses are incredible! Your watercolor renderings of them, so delicate, so alive. I don’t think Huz should be off the hook forever. I do love hydrangeas, but forever is a hell of a long time!
    Poor Huz!
    Kathy

  3. Lovely paintings again, Mun. You really are good, aren’t you ! I’m with Huz. Fi is a gardener and we have a garden full of flowers – so I rarely buy them – but that’s not the point, is it?! And as for buying jewellery – it was only after we got together did I learn that she is allergic to all metals except 18ct gold. True !! So she says. ;)

    • Ah, gotta put those art skills I learnt in my A levels to some good use, right? I had a great teacher too :)
      No need to buy flowers when you can grow your own, I feel. Seriously, romance is over-hyped. Nothing tops the rush of affection I feel when Huz hands me a mug of tea in the morning every day…..:)
      There are many ways of making a woman happy, esp a low-maintenance one such as I.
      Hope Mrs Monkey gets treated to lots of 18 ct goodies then!

  4. I’m loving the art posts M :D I like the first one best and can’t wait to see more of your work :)

    On another note…Huz + roses, took me back to the days when Hubby and I were courting in Medical school…He brought me a bouquet of 100 red roses for our first anniversary :D Even I was impressively flabbergasted I can tell you :) I chose well ;-) even if I do say so myself :P

  5. Munira,
    My students at writersapprentices@wordpress.com are so impressed by you. As am I. First love the regularity of your posts. (I need to learn from that). Second, love each post! period. Never knew you were an artist. Beautiful stuff.

    Roses–Ah! Memories of yesteryear. I need to start emotionally blackmailing someone too! Unfortunately my better half believes that flowers are a waste of hard-earned money!:D ‘They wilt,’ he says simply. But the blackmailing must persist!
    Maryam

  6. Thank you, so kind :)
    As for the roses….I recommend sneaking off and buying them for yourself, and tell hubby your secret boyfriend sent them ;)

Your turn to say something

