Jazzing with colour!

When someone does not display any particular artistic skill for most of their childhood/teenage years, then one fine day decides to pick up a brush and proceeds to paint anything wooden she can get her hands on, one can’t help but shake one’s head in disbelief, amazement and yes a bit of amusement thrown in. You wonder if it’s a passing phase…..but then years go by, and she’s still at it, painting her heart out. For quite a few years now she has been running a shop from her house and has made a name and a niche for herself, going by the name ‘Articrafts’.

Over the course of time she has produced and sold a mind-boggling amount of work, and that would include just about anything she was obsessed by at a given point. She gets ideas, and then does not rest until she has given them some kind of form and shape.

She is, truly, an extremely creative woman, with an eye for colour and a sure, firm hand with a paintbrush or a sewing machine, whatever medium she chooses to dabble in, often combining all. The following sea of pictures should speak for themselves, I think.

I’m lucky that person is my little sister Fatu, so I get a lot of freebies :)

Here is evidence of her work around my house….

this is a ceramic bowl she found in a flea market and painted a border to. it was just a plain blue bowl before this! i had to buy it off her when i saw it at her house because i couldn't take my eyes off it :)

a tiny, gorgeously painted little wooden thingy I fell in love with too.

i asked Fatu to design a circular mirror for Amu, and this is what she came up with. I think she did a spectacular job, and it goes beautifully in Amu's room :)

after the stupendous success of the blue mirror, I felt like putting mirrors everywhere, so I asked Fatu to make another one but with a different colour scheme. this one seems to be in a state of flux, as it has switched 3 places already and i'm seriously thinking of relocating it again. or maybe i'll ask her to make me yet another one. can't help it if i like circular mirrors can I?

this is supposed to be a keychain hanger and is one of the oldest of Fatu's things around my house. it belongs in my kitchen and I hang an assortment of dusters on it :)

this is supposed to be a covered dustbin, but then I thought it was too pretty for trash. so we use it as something to store wires and camera paraphernalia and various other thingamajigs

a lovely compartmentalized jewellery box that prettifies my dresser :)

this little wooden box was once part of a toy. Fatu painted it for me a long time ago and I use it as a place to store my most used recipes wriiten on squares of card paper :)

plain, stained Thai trays, rejuvenated. for free! :D

and a rack for newspapers...

Fatu makes lots of other stuff too, of course, and I feel you need to see that too. Most of it is made by a carpenter she hires, and she sands everything smooth, stains it, and embellishes it with some paint and finishes it with lots of lacquer so it doesn’t ever come off.

But she also scours the flea markets to look for worn-out old pieces, which she then proceeds to refurbish, thereby rescuing them and what is more, creating works of art that can be used on an everyday basis….

who says we can't scrub our feet with something pretty?

or wear pretty, painted wooden clogs in the bathroom? (trademark Fatu! they sell like hot cakes)

wooden trestles and spreads to match! (these sell like hotcakes too!)

the artist is not above painting her own clothes as well :)

corner of a table, and a painted trunk in the background...

freshly painted keychain hangers

big, all-accomodating trays :)

everything on this shelf is for sale :) so let me know if you like anything.

wooden bowls and spoons, renovated :)

an assortment of colourful keychains

and candlestick holders...

handmade bags, designed and stitched entirely by Fatu herself. I have lost count of the hundreds she has made and sold!

She loves glimpsing sights of people carrying the bags that she has made, in places she never dreamed she would. And since she does not keep a proper inventory, she herself has no clue of the sheer volume of work she has done, nor does she really care to dwell on it. I find that amazing about her.

So this is my sister Fatu, everybody. If you live in Karachi, do check her out. Drop me a note here if you would like to contact her……maybe I could connect you. Or look for her page on Facebook….it’s called ‘Jazzing with colours’ and ‘like’ it. Or if all else fails, just email her at crazy_hair@live.com.

She’ll love to sell you her stuff :)

50 responses to “Jazzing with colour!

  1. OMG, Munira, I am in LOVE with your sister! Wow! I want to know more about her. I don’t know how I can buy her stuff necessarily from here in the US, but, gosh, I want to be her FB friend–and yours–if possible.

    I’m completely blown away! Thank you, thank you, thank you!

    Kathy

    • thank you so much kathy…and i have heard soo much about you from munira and seen your work as well….let me just say…i am a FAN!!!!…:D…love what you do….a woman after my own heart….

  2. wow mun!!!….the pics are gorgeous!!….thank you sooo much….*sniff*……..and i want you to know…..i am truly sorry for smashing your clay cooking toys…when i was five…..*sniff*

    • You likey? I’m glad! ,phew!> such pressure to do a good job of presenting you to my world! :D but tell me, why on earth are you anonymous? Please don’t be anonymous, we need you to show yourself!

  3. I wish I could come to Karachi and get some of this stuff. I love it all!! What a creative sister you have, Mun!

  4. I have to agree with your pal Shazia, such talented sisters!! Pls tell Fatu I’m blown away by her works! If I could order them online oof I should be so lucky! Thank you for this post Mun, im in complete awe :D I can’t do arts and crafts AT ALL so I have a deep admiration for people with such talent. Hey let’s not forget, ur an awesome painter too :D and Botanist!

  5. Am back in the Blogosphere & I WANT everything in every picture!! How on earth can I manage to get stuff from your sister M?? Such gorgeous stuff and so beautifully executed. Kudos to her and to you for celebrating her :D Am off now to like her FB page :) Please do let me know if there’s a way I can order her stuff…Love it all :)

    Luv, H.

    • Yayy I’m sooo glad you’re back Harsha!!
      There has GOT to be an easy way of getting stuff across, but we have yet to think of one. In the meantime, rest assured, I know exactly what to bring you when I come to visit ;)

  6. That shelf is so stunning!! Love the bottle on the 3rd and th ewooden bowl on the 4th :) And while we’re at it…I doff my hat to your fantastic photography M!! Very very COOL :D

    Luv. H.

  7. Munira, your photographs are beautiful. I’d love to able to check out Fatu’s shop and linger over her beautiful artwork. (I’m already in love with that dark wood tray!) I don’t know why I can’t find the page for her shop on Facebook. I’ve been trying for half an hour.

    • I took that dark wood tray from Fatu cos it really is beautiful….but then she took it back saying I don’t need any more trays and then went ahead and took my plain worn-out Thai ones and revamped them! Win-win ;)

  8. What a talented sister you have! Fatu’s work is absolutely gorgeous, and I have to say that I sat here smiling as I browsed through her works of art.

    Thank you for sharing with us!!

  9. WoW!!! The pics make fatema’s stuff look more gorgeous than they already are. I have always admired Fatema for her energy and drive, her relentless pursuit of her endless goals with incredible enthusiasm . This writeup makes me feel even more proud her. This was a great idea Mun… bless you and your kind , giving heart.

  10. Wonderful!! I love the colors and patterns. The clothes and bags are my favorites. (I have a similar footscrubber in my shower! Without the paint of course.) Fatu could sell on Etsy. :)

    Yay sisters. :)

  11. I feel drunk from all the gorgeous colours and your photography.

    Drunk I tell you. And I’m loving it.

    Like the lady above suggested, maybe your sister could sell via Etsy.

    Beautiful … and I want some! :) MJ

      • It’s an online marketplace for handmade goods. It works really well for some people, but it’s easy to get lost in its vastness! However, it’s a very convenient way to sell crafts to a global audience. I have a shop there that I haven’t updated in months: satsumabug.etsy.com

  12. Munira, I am amazed by your sister’s art work. I paint my self and have always loved seeing other people’s art and comparing how is it similar or different from mine.
    My compliments to Fatu! I will look her up on FB! Enjoy your weekend! :)

    • Hey Sibella, it would be so cool to see some of your artwork too, though how you’d fit that in with your baking theme will take some creativity :)
      Compliments have been duly conveyed and the artist is much obliged!

  13. Woww!!Dazzling stuff..u sisters aree really talented munira aunty! U with your mind-boggling writing and Fatema aunty with her creativity and then there’s Shireen autny whom i love for her nature and sincerity!:)
    Love,
    Maria

  14. Fatu does beautiful work! I found her facebook page and ‘liked’ it. The colors are delicious :) I also love your photography. Very beautiful :)

  15. I love your sister’s work! I was wondering how much the “big, all-accomodating trays” are for? Also, is there a way she can mail them to Lahore? Thanks! (:

  16. hey munira ur things r jxt tremendous. actually i need a bag, yew said me to order online, bt cn yew tell me tht where i can get the variety of bags to see.. plz tell me as early as possible..

Your turn to say something

