Project-Lunch

Yesterday while riffling aimlessly through the bookshelf, I chanced upon a pile of cookbooks and thought to myself  ‘Hey! Why don’t I try something new for lunch tomorrow?’ The first cookbook in the pile turned out to be full of Asian recipes, and while flipping through it, yet another novel idea presented itself.

I walked over to Huz and told him to pick a dish from the book and I would cook it for him.

Rather sportily (or so I thought to myself), instead of shooing me off with a ‘Pick one yourself, woman!’, he went through the pages in an interested manner (after donning his reading glasses, which lent an air of seriousness to the endeavour) and within minutes decided on the recipe on page 38-39 —> ‘Chicken and Almonds’

(He loves anything with nuts)

He astonished me even further (though I was careful not to show it, lest he change his mind) by offering to go grocery shopping in the morning to get all the necessary ingredients! (14 years of married life can still present wonders that amaze)

So this is what we needed.

I started off by first mixing 1 tbsp of soy sauce with 1 tbsp cornflour and pouring it over 300g chicken breast fillets, sliced diagonally across into strips, and leaving it to marinate.

 

Next, I prepared all the other things.

Grated a 2cm piece of fresh ginger….. chopped 1 onion roughly…. thinly sliced 1 celery stalk, diagonally……

The recipe called for 50 g of green beans but I used more because I wanted more green in my lunch. Sliced them vertically in half, and then cut canned bamboo shoots into half a cup of cubes….(umm….perhaps I used a bit more)

Time to fire up the ol’ wok with 2 tbsp oil (you can tell from the picture that I use my wok a lot :P). When it was nice and hot, I stir-fried the chicken for about 2 minutes, then removed it from the heat and set it aside, keeping it covered….


I added a little more oil to the wok, re-heated it and stir-fried the ginger, onion and celery for about 4 minutes.


Then I put in the green beans and bamboo shoots and cooked for another minute.

The recipe calls for 2 tbsp Chinese rice wine or medium sherry, but I skipped this (since I didn’t have any) and poured in a quarter cup of chicken stock, 1 tsp of sesame oil, and 2 tbsp of water (I also squeezed in half a lemon, just for fun), covered it and steamed for 30 seconds.

Next, I mixed together 2 tsp of extra cornflour with 1 tbsp of water and stirred it into the sauce, bringing it to the boil.

Then it was time to return the chicken to the pan and add 125 g (or a heaped handful) of blanched, roasted almonds, tossing it all well to combine and allowing it to just heat through and….voila!!

It was ready to be served with steamed white rice (which I somehow managed to make simultaneously). 🙂

Huz liked it. I enjoyed it too. And so did Amu, when she came back from sports practice at 4 in the afternoon.

It’s 6:30 now and I’m wondering….what should we have for dinner? 😛

 

12 thoughts on “Project-Lunch

  1. mirandaminimalist October 19, 2010 / 2:28 pm

    Oooh! That looks yummy! You must be crazy-good with that wok. 😉

    Honestly, it looks like a manageable level of difficulty; I might try that. I *never* make Asian flavored food of any stripe, but I *love* it.

    • munira's bubble October 19, 2010 / 6:19 pm

      Stir-fries always turn out so yum! I think I should definitely invest in a bigger, better wok 🙂
      You must try this recipe, and *when* you do, might I suggest the addition of a teaspoon or two of brown sugar? I think it really brings out the flavour in this chinese classic…..

  2. Anonymous October 19, 2010 / 5:41 pm

    Chicken Ala Kiev for lunch tomorrow

    • munira's bubble October 19, 2010 / 6:20 pm

      😮 !! Is that a challenge?? Cos I might just take you up on it….

  3. sakina October 20, 2010 / 5:18 am

    lovely lovely presentation and direction Mun. Loved the pictorial evidence of your nek endeavour…. good for you hozi… and ammu ofcourse ❤

  4. maria zoom October 21, 2010 / 12:26 pm

    it’s a pleasure reading what ever u write ,i even remember reading the letters u had written on ur trip to the north with the school, keep it up!

  5. madball70 October 21, 2010 / 5:57 pm

    uhhh it looks delicious….

  6. Nighat Khan October 22, 2010 / 1:39 pm

    I loved the pictorial journey through your cooking. Really you have done far greater job than many chefs on TV!!! When do I get to eat it???

Your turn to say something

