Encounter of the close kind.

Me: ‘Aaack! Spider!!’

Huz: ‘Kill it, woman!’ The man has a penchant for smashing bugs with his bare hands.

Me: ‘No, it’s too pretty. Look it’s gnashing it’s jaws!’ Clearly, I’m a wimp.

Huz: ‘Look, if you don’t kill it, it’ll bite us one of these days.’

Me: ‘It isn’t one of those spindly scrawny spiders that bite.’

Huz: ‘Then what type is it?’

Me: ‘This one has more meat on its bones.’

Huz: ‘All the more reason for it to bite big chunks out of us, it probably has a bigger appetite.’

Me: ‘I don’t think it eats humans. Just flies and stuff like that.’

Huz: ‘Lemme see.’ Gets up from chair and comes over to look. ‘Where is it?’

The spider hopped off in a flash and disappeared.

It reappeared a little while later on the blinds, and the conversation repeated itself, except I had to dissuade Huz from using the bug-spray.

Thus, the spider was saved.

The End.

12 thoughts on “Encounter of the close kind.

  1. huzaifazoom November 4, 2010 / 6:42 am

    Saved? Hah! Just you go out of the room…

  2. thysleroux November 4, 2010 / 1:58 pm

    Well written! Funny.

    I do know the feeling though, the more “meat on the bones” the scarier they look…

    • munira's bubble November 6, 2010 / 4:54 pm

      thanks thysleroux! i saw a very pretty yellow one crawling on my allamandas a few days ago. it was the most beautiful spider i’ve ever seen, very graceful and non-meaty 🙂

  3. Posky November 5, 2010 / 7:32 am

    I never let a spider go if it’s in my sleeping space and I don’t know what type it is. I had to kill this big brown thing fairly recently for being too large and too close to my bed.

    You are a better person than I am. I’d probably have given him the squish.

    • munira's bubble November 6, 2010 / 4:39 pm

      Big brown thing!!? Was it a tarantula??

      *sniff* I would have tried to capture it in a jar and fed it.

  4. huzaifazoom November 5, 2010 / 11:41 am

    Update: a short while back, a spider fitting the above description was seen scuttling across the living room floor. The man with the thing for squishing bugs with his hand tried his foot this time (mind you it was slippered – he’s a city dwelling civilized man reduced to primitive instincts only by persistent invading insectia). The spider is no more. Maybe it was a relative. In which case there will be revenge. The man is prepared: with one hand bare, the other with can of insecticide, and two feet (slippered mind you).

    • munira's bubble November 6, 2010 / 4:46 pm

      how could you??? spiders are good for the domestic ecosystem!!

      • huzaifazoom November 6, 2010 / 5:15 pm

        When it wiggled its hairy legs just so, I understood perfectly well it was code in insect-speak for “bring it on! lemme see watch ya got!” And in the process of bringing it on, I lost my civility.

  5. crazygoangirl November 6, 2010 / 12:19 pm

    I am NOT an insect person, but spiders don’t creep me out as much as roaches and the rest…yuck!! However, this spider looks rather fine…especially those vampire fangs with which to bite off that chunk of flesh 😉 Did u draw it?

    Congrats on achieving ‘spider-messiah’ status 😀

    • munira's bubble November 6, 2010 / 4:52 pm

      you’re right, roaches are eminently squishable 😛 i would do it with pleasure!

      and yes, that was my pathetic attempt at capturing the jaw-gnashing vampire spider….only because everyone seems to be playing around with Paint these days! 😀

  6. Jason August 19, 2011 / 3:46 pm

    Spiders and I have an ongoing relationship of mutual understanding — if they don’t come near me, I won’t go after them. If they’re in my HOUSE, though… all bets are off. I can’t bear the thought of being in bed with a spider (again). 😐

Your turn to say something

