The Jitters.

Huz must travel to Tanzania for work, and I figure it’s about time I tagged along. After all, I’ve never been to the Dark Continent, whereas Huz has been to Ghana, Gambia, Togo, Senegal, Malawi, Kenya, Niger, Nigeria, and I forget which other African countries, and I confess….I’m finally curious enough to want to go see for myself what all the fuss is about.

Amu and I have travelled with Huz, (to places like the Maldives and Lebanon..very exotic I know!) but only because the opportunities to do so happened to coincide with school holidays. This time though, it is different. This time we’re leaving Amu behind with my mother and going off on our own, bang in the middle of the school year….a hitherto unimaginable prospect!

The nitty-gritties have been taken care of, thanks to the support and help of a friend/neighbour who has most kindly agreed to pick and drop to the school bus, and my lovely mom who has volunteered to stay with Amu and Fuzzy while we’re gone. ย It’s going to be very strange and worrying, but I’ve put up lists with instructions all over the house, so hopefully they’ll manage okay. Mumtaz will come and clean, and the cook will take care of the cooking. All Mom has to do is make sure Amu gets up and goes to school in the morning, and keep the front door locked….(okay I’m simplifying A LOT!) Butย I still can’t believe we’re actually going to be travelling together, just Huz and I, for the first time since we honeymooned in Turkey 15 years ago. It’s going to be weird, and I know I’m going to miss Amu quite a bit, but I think it’s important to do this. Amu needs to learn to get by without us, and what better time to do so than the year she turned 13?

The passports have been renewed, yellow fever vaccinations injected into our bloodstreams, and travel clothes have been decided on, the trickiest part about travelling for me. I have yet to start packing, but I have all of today to do it.

What’s important is, I got a haircut yesterday and am glad to report it has certainly added a bounce to my tresses, not to mention my step, very important when one is struck by wanderlust…

Though it’s exciting to be travelling to faraway lands, I can’t help feeling jittery about the usual stuff. I find myself thinking about how to deal in case of a plane crash mid-ocean. Will I remember to curl up into a foetal position when/if the plane crashes into the water? Will I get the chance to pull the string on the inflatable jacket thingy before I drown? If I’m yanked out of a jagged hole in the plane’s fuselage and get injured and bleed, how soon before the sharks get me? Will I manage to grab Huz’s hand as I make my way to the surface, or….(to give chivalry it’s due)…vice-versa…?

Apart from the probability of dying of untoward plane crashes, I still hate flying and wish there was a better way of getting from point A to point B. I hate being horribly sleepy yet unable to fall asleep. Airplane seats are most discomfiting and I’m usually fidgety and edgy until we’ve landed safely, wherever it is we’re going. I hope ‘The Diaries of Jane Somers’ keeps me happy as I resign myself to my situation.

But I’m looking forward to the trip, for what I’ll get to see, and smell, and taste once I get there….fresh stuff to blog about! It’ll be a good break from the bubble. I think it might even teach me to be less of a control freak, if I manage to stop worrying about how everyone’s faring at home and if I remembered to pack everything I could possibly need…

Though Huz has been to Tanzania before and talked about it and ‘tried’ to describe the people and the place, I’m clueless about what to expect. People tell me it’s lovely and quaint and beautiful, though Huz wasn’t too impressed. I think he’s a bit jaded from over exposure ๐Ÿ˜› In his defense though, he IS looking forward to seeing my reaction to it all and MY take on things. And he does want me to have a good time!

As for me, I can’t wait to see it with my own eyes. Can’t wait to take lots of pictures. Can’t wait to put it all into words………..only then will it become real for me. And I can’t wait to come back and share it with you guys…..unless I manage to blog from our hotel room ๐Ÿ™‚ Fingers crossed firmly!

9 thoughts on “The Jitters.

  1. Obaid Rahmani March 26, 2011 / 10:59 pm

    The following dialogue came to mind the moment i saw the title to this post…

    “Maurice: What if Mr. Alex is even worse then the Foosa? I’m tellin’ you, that dude just gives me the heebiedabajeebies!

    Julian: Maurice, you did not raise your hand. Therefore, your heinous comment will be stricken from the record. Does anyone else have the heebiedibigibies? No? Good. So shut up.”

    Bon voyage! And i do hope that you find the time and connectivity to share your experiences with us folks on the ECL ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • munira's bubble March 27, 2011 / 11:42 am

      Uff, my heebiedabajeebies have sprouted a few more heads! I appear to be blase, but don’t be fooled. I’m seriously worried about those Indian Ocean sharks…

  2. Rashida Anjarwala March 27, 2011 / 2:22 am

    Sharks have never crossed my mind when im atleast a 1000 feet above the sea ๐Ÿ™‚

    I love the way you write…so look forward to reading more on your blog.

    Have a safe journey and enjoy all you can.
    Carrying a mosquito repellent would be a good idea

    • munira's bubble March 27, 2011 / 11:52 am

      Heh heh! I’ll try not to look down from the plane window :p
      Thanks Rashida, will blog in earnest, if not here then in my new notebook for sure ๐Ÿ™‚
      Bring it on Africa!

      p.s. mosquito repellent. check.

  3. huzaifazoom March 27, 2011 / 5:22 am

    Your artistic license has granted me access to two places I haven’t been to: Niger and Kenya. But the generosity is understandable: Niger is only two vowels away from its neighbor and I have spent enough nights at Nairobi airport to get a feel for what it would be like outside.

    Sharks are real though in the the form of immigration officials and security staff. Sizing you up with an insidious “what is it that you do?” while flippantly flipping through your passport as anxiety wells up within you and you begin to wonder “what is it that I do, really?”

    • munira's bubble March 27, 2011 / 12:25 pm

      Hahaha, nice one Huz! And thank you for passing off my error in reporting as ‘artistic license’ ๐Ÿ˜‰
      Hopefully we’ll manage to keep all the sharks, real and imaginary, at bay ๐Ÿ˜‰ And if anyone asks me what I do, I’ll thwack ’em ๐Ÿ˜›

  4. Single Malt Monkey March 27, 2011 / 7:30 am

    Kick back and go with the flow. You’ll have lots of stories to tell when you get back.

  5. munira's bubble March 27, 2011 / 12:30 pm

    That’s the plan, friend, that’s the plan… ๐Ÿ™‚

Your turn to say something

