Monday

Ok, I admit I’ve been very lazy and uninspired for the last few weeks, not least when it came to blogging.

I have been neglecting my plants, doing only the barest minimum to keep them alive, and sometimes not even that. I DID finally wash ALL the clothes accumulating in the various laundry baskets though, and that’s saying something!

I have clothes to stitch by default because my favourite tailor is playing hard to get, and I really need an autumn infusion in my wardrobe, which seems woefully bare when I deludedly open the door, thinking perhaps I might magically find something nice to wear that I may have overlooked the last time I opened that door.

But I have not felt inspired to stitch, though the cloth is beautiful and the trimmings match. I can’t be bothered to ‘apply’ myself, if you catch my drift.

Is this what laziness is all about? Or is there more to this torpor….

I need to think about clothes for an upcoming wedding in the family, but going shopping and deciding on fabrics and colours seems like too much work. I’m putting it off, knowing full well that as the time draws ever closer I’m setting myself up to freak out because Amu and I will have nothing fabulous to wear and we will feel like the poor relatives.

Many of you who have followed my blog from the beginning will be aware of the existence of a room in my house that was beginning to feel like a black hole. To cut a long story short, we decided to revamp that room, relocate all our stuff, give away anything we didn’t need anymore and turn that room into a nice cosy and inviting sitting room where we could entertain friends/guests.

First we got the flooring done. We kept it cheap by using vinyl instead of wood, but the effect is similar so it turned out great. Then we had to redo the lighting, to create a nicer ambience.

The walls had to be painted next, and the ceiling fan needed to be scraped and painted again, because we live near the sea and the moist air wreaks havoc with rustable objects.

Furnishings and accessories need to be done now, and though a part of me wants to get my teeth into that, I can’t be pushed to go out, visit shops, balk at the prices of things, be terrified of making a commitment, spend a lot of money…..and not be happy with the end result.

I often make bad decisions, then live with them, a part of me suffering in silence, a part of me in denial at having made a bad choice.

So anyway, that’s some work in progress which will obviously take some time to put together for that stylish magazine-y look that I would like to achieve (without spending too much.)

Can’t go shopping today anyway, everything is closed, including schools, because Nusrat Bhutto passed away. The event made Zahooran sad yesterday, who woke up with a sense of foreboding. She often feels like this just before someone dies.

In the meantime, since I am not only lazy but also very disorganized, I started cooking lunch at a quarter to two because I was distracted by Facebook earlier, and since we bought some very expensive mutton yesterday I decided to give it special treatment by making Punjabi yakhni pulao.

When I put the meat to boil along with ginger, garlic and a whole packet of Shan Punjabi yakhni pulao masala, Huz wandered in, following the smell with his nose, saying ‘What’s this? Smells good.’

Then he came for a closer whiff.

‘Actually, it smells like you’re cooking brain.’

I wasn’t sure if that was a good thing, considering brains make him squeamish.

‘Hmmm….’ said I.

Then Amu walked into the kitchen, saying ‘Why does it smell like fish? No wait, it smells like blood.’

I was left a bit speechless. And also a bit worried. It IS 600 rupees worth of meat after all!

It’s 4:30 now, and the rice still has a little time to go before it is ready, I think there was something wrong with the recipe written on the back of the box, so I modified a few things. There’s no way you can cook 6 cups of rice in just two cups of meat stock…….

There’s a jug full of sweet lassi waiting in the freezer though.

And I will say again here, if I have not already said it before……..my family is very patient 🙂

24 thoughts on “Monday

  1. huzaifazoom October 24, 2011 / 12:32 pm

    Given the pulao was done to perfection, a likely explanation for the two cups of meat stock in the recipe is that 2 could have been mistaken for a 6 (easy enough in Urdu; very difficult in English). A little investigation confirmed that, and the execution, result and method are now all in harmony!

    • Munira October 24, 2011 / 12:35 pm

      You mean the 6 was mistaken for a 2 of course 🙂

  2. Kathryn McCullough October 24, 2011 / 12:41 pm

    Bless your heart. Sounds like you may be a bit depressed. At least you are describing the symptoms of depression, certainly not laziness. I suggest you be gentle with yourself. Of course, it could be something else besides depression, but it certainly doesn’t sound like laziness. Plus, it also sounds like you’re doing a lot, my friend!

    Wish I were eating at your house tonight!

    Kathy

    • Munira October 24, 2011 / 12:55 pm

      That’s a perceptive comment Kathy….you might have something there. I know I’ve been feeling awfully strange lately, very disoriented. There’s so much to think and worry about.
      I think it’s a consequence of living where I do, and my bubble feels very constrained and I want to break out of it. I’m happy, yet unhappy, satisfied, yet dissatisfied. So very confusing!
      Thanks for sympathizing, it brought a tear to my eye!

  3. photokunstler October 24, 2011 / 4:41 pm

    I agree that it doesn’t sound like laziness at all, Munira. Maybe it is time to look at how you’re feeding your soul? What are you doing for YOU, to replenish your energy bank account? You can’t just keep making withdrawals without going into deficit, and that is a price you don’t want to pay!

    Is it possible to hire a decorator to finish the room with you, consulting with you and offering options and suggestions and ideas? Sometimes spending a bit of money is emancipating, and it sounds like it might help… to have this finished and off your plate.

    I am glad the pulao was perfection! You made me hungry…

    • Munira October 25, 2011 / 10:14 am

      Hiring a decorator would send the costs skyrocketing! 😛
      Will put up some pics when it’s done. It’s good that we have fairly simple tastes.
      I think perhaps Karachi is too crazy and chaotic, and at this point I just can’t take the rush and bustle of traffic, it daunts me. What I need is someone to drive me around!
      Maybe this period has been the low time from which there is no alternative but to bounce out 🙂

      • photokunstler October 25, 2011 / 1:27 pm

        We hired a decorator to help out once or twice in our lives – not to do everything (couldn’t afford that!) but only to help out. What price sanity? It was cheap in the end for the little bit we asked for help with.

        We’d love to see the pics when you’re done!

        Weirdly, from 4am until I woke/got out of bed this morning my head kept saying “huzaifazoom.” Interesting. Usually when I have recurring thoughts or songs it means I had a bad night sleeping. The last time it happened I seem to have spent an entire 8-9 hours with Israel Kamakawiwo’ole’s “Somewhere Over the Rainbow” playing on a loop.

        • Munira October 26, 2011 / 7:07 am

          Okay, that really made me laugh out loud! 😀

  4. Single Malt Monkey October 25, 2011 / 7:20 am

    Your cooking sounds like it comes out tasting just fine. And the head-fuzziness?…..everybody gets low sometimes….you’ll bounce back. Give it time – maybe it’s Autumn blues. All this season changing stuff gets to me too.

    • Munira October 25, 2011 / 10:20 am

      The pulao was yum….we had leftovers for lunch because I made so much, so today was a cooking off-day 🙂 (love that!)
      Change of seasons….how nice it would be to experience that, really.
      Yeah….I think I’m getting back to my normal self already. Maybe I just needed to write about it and get it off my chest 🙂
      Maybe it’s good to let yourself wallow in some low-ness, just to feel the fun of snapping out of it, haha.

  5. Tofiq Pasha Mooraj October 25, 2011 / 8:52 am

    Neglect any thing but your plants……… 😦

    • Munira October 25, 2011 / 10:29 am

      Hahaha, yessir!! *snaps smart salute*
      I found caterpillars munching on the lemon leaves today…tomato vines are growing happily though 🙂

  6. Aziza October 27, 2011 / 9:10 am

    Welcome back from the ‘Wallows’ dear. I must try the Punjabi Pulao massala hope it’s not too spicy though.
    HUG

    • Munira October 28, 2011 / 5:43 pm

      It’s not spicy at all! 🙂 Biggest redeeming feature!
      Big hug back!

  7. auntyuta November 2, 2011 / 11:37 pm

    I read your post last week already and couln’t find the time to comment.So I just read your post again and all the comments as well. With the plans for new furniture and decorations for the newly done up room, why not wait and do it when you feel up to it? I mean it probably doesn’t matter very much if it takes a bit longer? I am sure you won’t have any regrets about how you end up doing it when you can do everything in your own good time. Sometimes we pressure ourselves too much when it’s really not necessary to do so. But you know this. And you’re so grateful that your family is patient. and loving.

    I sympathise with you that you don’t feel like going out into the chaotic traffic. Maybe it’s possible to find someone to go with you and drive you? As far as the wedding is concerned, I’m sure you’ll come up with something nice in good time. I don’t think you and your daughter are going to look poor. I’m looking forward to see some of your lovely pictures! As far as cooking and gardening is concerned, I think sometimes you need a break from it. After having a bit of time to yourself, you’ll always bounce back enjoying doing what you’re doing.I’m glad you enjoy writing. I love reading what you write. Have a good week and thank you for sharing!

    • Munira November 3, 2011 / 7:06 pm

      Absolutely right Aunty Uta, I will take my time over it and enjoy the process no matter how long it takes, and really there is no need to hurry at all 🙂
      I often ask Huz to take me where I need to go…sometimes he obliges, and I’m grateful for whatever I can get! 🙂
      Love your understanding and thoughtful comment, I feel so reassured and peaceful! 🙂
      Thank you so much for taking out the time to comment! I’ve been reading your blog too, just haven’t been able to comment on each post, but rest assured I have been visiting!

      • auntyuta November 3, 2011 / 11:38 pm

        Thank you for that, dear Munira.

  8. amarahm November 3, 2011 / 1:13 pm

    By some stroke of good luck I stumbled upon your blog the other day. I really love your writing! I can relate to many of the things you say. I am following it now so that I can read some more in between my own domestic ramblings. If you had such an inclination, I think you’d write a great novel.
    Best regards,
    Fellow Karachiite

    • Munira November 3, 2011 / 7:11 pm

      I’m so glad we found each other fellow Karachiite! I really have to pore over your cooking posts and make notes!
      And your comment makes my day. Thank you! My bestest regards to you too. Hope you’re enjoying the change of season and the delicious oranges, grapefruit and pomegranate 🙂
      See you around!

  9. xandimusic November 3, 2011 / 4:25 pm

    very nice article!
    I love the descripton:
    My name is Munira. I like chips…..
    And I have a blog.
    haha 😀

    • Munira November 3, 2011 / 7:08 pm

      Lol! Thank you so much! 😀 I need to explore your blog and listen to all that lovely music!

Your turn to say something

