Dil-e-nadaan tujhe hua kia hai? (what is UP with you, silly ol’ heart?)

After being serenaded in the wee hours of the morning with a ghazal by Abida Parveen I have begun to rethink my lack of enthusiasm for her voice.

Good music is good music after all, and whether I consider pirs and murshids to be flaky or not is irrelevant 😉

Sometimes the time of day greatly affects your receptivity and enjoyment of a particular piece of music. And the mood dictates what meaning you’ll glean from the lyrics.

I happened to be listening to this one when the first light of dawn was just about to break. The mood was mellow and the house was quiet….and Abida finally managed to work her magic on me….

That was nice.

With my heart agreeably melted, I let my guard down further when someone posted a different song on a music group on Facebook. I clicked on the link, and was surprised once again by my receptivity. Does this mean I’m finally acquiring some ‘culture’?

But I’m throwing down the gauntlet with this one. Written by Ghalib and beautifully sung by a woman who imbues her voice with her soul.

I feel less like a neanderthal already! 😀

31 thoughts on “Dil-e-nadaan tujhe hua kia hai? (what is UP with you, silly ol’ heart?)

  1. amian74 December 13, 2011 / 3:45 pm

    I think it’s a combination of factors that determine what response might be elicited from the music being heard: time of the day (or night) being one as you alluded to, mood for sure, people with whom you can enjoy that particluar music, as well as what’s runing thru one’s blood stream…

    • Munira December 13, 2011 / 5:25 pm

      Magic, in other words 🙂
      I think young people should also have a music appreciation class in school, what do you think, hmm? 🙂

  2. indiajones December 13, 2011 / 4:02 pm

    When you mentioned that particular Ghalib song, there cannot be even a shred of doubt, reinforced when you listen to it, that you are part of a larger geographical sub-continent ( culture, as you yourself termed it ), and as amian74 termed it above, ” running through one’s blood stream”.
    I had the privilege of listening to Abida ji live, in Chennai, and was mesmerised, to say the least. And when I put her on in home-theatre, I could actually get a waft of perfume when her song was on. That perhaps imagined accoutrement has passed, but the magic lingers.
    Excellent post, way different from your earlier !

  3. Munira December 13, 2011 / 5:34 pm

    AP’s cool, I agree 🙂 Thanks Indiajones!

  4. satsumaart December 13, 2011 / 7:02 pm

    I know what you mean about music having a different effect depending on context. I know this would be overkill for most people, but when I find a song I like, I’ll listen to it on at least two different days before buying it, so I can be sure it was really the song I liked and not just the mood I was in. 😉

    • Munira December 13, 2011 / 7:42 pm

      Now that’s smart. And very similar to buying wall paint in a way 🙂

      • satsumaart December 13, 2011 / 7:48 pm

        I hadn’t thought of it like that, but yes! 🙂 I have never bought wall paint but I will probably be just as obsessive if I do. 😉

        • Munira December 13, 2011 / 8:57 pm

          Heehee, I’m SURE you will Lisa! ❤
          Still jumping up and down with excitement at the thought of you on the move. How thrilling your life will be in 2012! Doubt you'll need to buy wall paint though 😉

          • satsumaart December 15, 2011 / 9:14 pm

            Eeee, I’m so excited that you’re excited! 🙂 It makes it more fun for me! 😉 If I do end up buying wall paint while abroad, it will be for a very interesting reason, I’m sure — since I can’t imagine why I would need it! 🙂

  5. Kathryn McCullough December 13, 2011 / 8:16 pm

    I’m not familiar with this artist, but I love what you shared. Thanks for the introduction, my friend. I think musical receptivity has a lot to do with time and place–as well as a whole lot of other things, like sobriety, etc.

    Great post.

    Kathy

    • Munira December 13, 2011 / 9:05 pm

      Aww Kathy, you’re a sweetheart! It was unlikely that you could have heard of Abida Parveen all the way in the US, but here on the subcontinent (Pakistan-India) she is a musical force to be reckoned with. A lot of people say her name with way more respect and reverence than I seem to bandy it about!
      Definitely an acquired taste for me though 🙂 I blame my upbringing!

      • indiajones December 17, 2011 / 4:34 pm

        Abida ji, if I remember right from the papers, was with several other select singers from Pakistan for a couple of days earlier this year, 2011, singing to a public audience in New York. A heart attack during a performance in Lahore last year, would have induced her to believe there’s nothing to be lost in a couple of renditions in Big Blue, in this one.

        Here’s a snippet in true American style:

  6. Single Malt Monkey December 14, 2011 / 6:24 pm

    Your taste in music is so enlightening. Wow. These pieces, sorry, songs, are all atmospheric and speak of a time and place and I suspect dawn is the perfect time for the mellow tones and thoughtfulness they exude. I have to say I’m also a sucker for great tabla. I just love it. The rhythms, particularly the last one, drive but don’t overpower the vocal. You can’t sit still. I really want to create some music with a tabla player. Maybe it’s an ambition for next year ?
    I’m grabbing these as downloads to add to my burgeoning collection of Eastern music. Great post, Munira. Thank you.

  7. Munira December 14, 2011 / 7:57 pm

    Thank you for appreciating the music as much as you do Alan….your comments are as thoughtful as I’m sure you are when you’re listening to something new!
    Your collection must be remarkably eclectic!
    Hope you find a tabla player to do some fusion jugalbandi with. That would be wayy cool. I recently met one (at a drum circle) who also uses his own body as a percussion instrument. Interesting!
    And I wish I could be awake at sunrise more often :/

  8. David Halliday December 22, 2011 / 9:11 pm

    A lot of Indian music, or music from many eastern countries is very alien to the European and North American ear. I hear a lot of it. (There’s a large Indian population in Canada) But I feel so ignorant about it.

    • Munira January 2, 2012 / 6:45 am

      I hear a lot of all kinds of music too, though not nearly enough I think. Haven’t been to any of the places where the music comes from or understood the nuances of culture or language, but that doesn’t kill the enjoyment of it 🙂

      Of course, Urdu is much more enjoyable when you can understand it….it is a beautiful language, and I regret having learned it only as a second language back in school.

  9. indiajones December 23, 2011 / 4:39 pm

    Music is global, has no geographical boundaries, especially barriers that are man-made.
    This song gets me. The lyrics are by Faiz Ahmed Faiz, who kept moving across Bangladesh, Pakistan and India during the fag end of his life.

    • Munira January 2, 2012 / 6:23 am

      I need to educate myself with Faiz’s poetry….and read Manto….goals for the new year, hopefully 🙂

      Shaam-e-firaaq na pooch is so beautiful. I can’t thank you enough for posting the link here! I’m listening to it right now and thoroughly enjoying it (and I just woke up)
      Feel free (read ‘i’d really appreciate it if you would’) to post more of your favourites here, Indiajones 🙂

  10. Sparks In Shadow January 2, 2012 / 6:13 am

    I really got into the last song. It feels hypnotic to me. I’m glad to have heard this music here. I probably never would have otherwise. Thanks, Munira.

    • Munira January 13, 2012 / 9:01 pm

      That gladdens my heart no end Re! Hope you listened to it with your eyes closed….

  11. Anonymous January 2, 2012 / 5:12 pm

    Since you gave me the liberty of “feeling free” to express what I want, like in the so-called “Arab Spring “, I can do no better than to give an incantation of Rabindranath Tagore, which may well be the best prayer we could possibly have for every New Year.

    No wonder the Bengali is more possessive about his tongue, than the Urdu speaking populace in Pakistan or India…both languages vie for their beauty with each other !

    Very Best for 2012 to all who get to read this.

    • Munira January 13, 2012 / 9:06 pm

      Thanks again for your dedicated input! 😀 I’m listening to it right now, of course, without understanding a word!
      Cheers!

  12. Rea January 12, 2012 / 9:14 pm

    Thanks for posting that! It’s always so fun to discover new music that I wouldn’t have found on my own.

    • Munira January 13, 2012 / 9:08 pm

      So happy to have you drop by Rea!

  13. transplantednorth January 27, 2012 / 2:01 am

    hi there munira, stopped by your blog on a very dreary lonely january night and this music just sends me to another place, thanks for posting.it.

    • Munira January 27, 2012 / 7:43 pm

      My pleasure Stacy!

  14. indiajones January 27, 2012 / 5:58 pm

    It’s great that this blog, Memsaab, is continuing beyond barriers of time, and you know why.
    There’s this one of Abida ji, which is the first that pulled the carpet from under my feet: It goes like ” Har tarannum mei mili hai, teri awaaz mujy, ek hi nagm sunaata hai har ek saaz mujy “. Alas, this song I am not able to transfer either through youtube or mp3. Abidaji may well have smashed the sonic barrier with this, and the internet falls flat ! So one may well have to websearch/google for it, worth the effort.
    My knowledge of raaga and the nuances of Hindustani music are inadequate as to categorise what Abidaji has rendered with the above, all I can say is the tune is familiar, and her voice and rendition transcendent.

    There is one Sufi song however, an original attributed to the Persian/Iranian poet Amir Khusrau, where the maverick Kailash Kher has actually given a cutting-edge of exuberance, which I would like you to opine, provides for greater pleasure to the ear than Abidaji’s take on the same ?

  15. berlioz May 26, 2012 / 4:52 am

    Great music! One feels like being between the cracks of time. No Urdu or Bengali culture running through my veins – still I feel the healing power of it. Another blogger, I know, would call it “Music that soothes the Soul”.

    • Munira May 27, 2012 / 7:04 am

      ‘Between the cracks of time….’ …..I like how that sounds 🙂 I’m amazed when ‘westerners’ latch on to the feel of ‘eastern’ music……glad you stumbled across this post berlioz!

Your turn to say something

