Birdy

Of late I have been more prone to pick up my camera than my pen and have clicked a few pictures I’m going to start posting one by one on Mun-Zooms, my photo blog.Β 

I have also been busy OCDing, organizing and cleaning and dejunking cabinets, cupboards and drawers systematically.

As I dashed around the house, full of beans due to the Kundalini yoga my sister Fats made me do with her yesterday, I glimpsed a pigeon sitting on a ledge outside Amu’s window. It was trying to peer into the room with its beady orange eye, bobbing and tilting its head side to side. I couldn’t help stopping in my tracks and laughing a little, then scooted off to grab the camera from my room.

Just as I trained the lens on it and fiddled with the focus, wouldn’t you know it, it flapped its wings noisily and took off, so that particular pigeon lost its chance at being gawked at on my blog πŸ™‚

Then I remembered noticing a pigeon through the side of an open window on our landing, nesting in the building duct and since I had a camera in my hand, I stepped out to see if it was still there.

Thankfully it was, so my need to capture a pigeon today was fulfilled. Here’s one of the pics I took.

Dear readers of Munira’s bubble, do subscribe to Mun-Zooms if you haven’t already. There’s not much to read there, just photos, so go ahead, don’t be afraid πŸ˜› Plus, you’ll get to see the humungus version of this photo. FTW!

15 thoughts on “Birdy

  1. Relax February 3, 2013 / 7:41 pm

    At my place there’s a family of pigeons.. (yes, birds too have families) … two of them are particularly boisterous … they wake me up in the morning with their sparring.. the other four just keep flying from one perch to the other..
    the six of them share a nest to lay their eggs in..
    now i think i will have to find out the number of females in the flock… is it a harem πŸ˜‰

    • Munira February 4, 2013 / 10:41 am

      As cute (and very interesting!) as that story sounds, I’m sure all that ‘gutar-gooing’ must get extremely annoying! πŸ™‚

      • Relax February 4, 2013 / 12:27 pm

        Not at all…. the nest has been there for more than 18 years… the tenants have changed πŸ˜‰ and we have never charged any rent for the ‘condo’.. lol :p

          • Relax February 4, 2013 / 7:59 pm

            in your afterlife, if you get wings and a beak to flaunt, do come visiting…… πŸ™‚

  2. Heather February 4, 2013 / 1:42 am

    I hate it when I decide something is worth photography, and then it departs just when I’m ready. I’ll go check out that other blog now πŸ™‚

    • Munira February 4, 2013 / 10:45 am

      Hence that bird (was it a duck?) taking off pic on your blog was so well-captured! πŸ™‚
      Thanks for checking out the other blog! I just felt that I’ve been in absentia for so long on this blog, I should direct those interested (in me and my photo-stories) to the place that I keep my images πŸ™‚
      Beginning to think perhaps I should merge the two, but I don’t know how……:(

  3. crazygoangirl February 4, 2013 / 3:58 am

    Birds have a way of doing that nahin? Flying off just when you’re about to click!! Love this perspective and now we’re pigeon-friends too in addition to all else πŸ™‚

    • Munira February 4, 2013 / 10:56 am

      Ji bilkul H! I thought of you while clicking this birdy πŸ˜‰ (pigen-friends…..hahahaha)

  4. Sid Dunnebacke February 4, 2013 / 4:55 am

    I’m off to visit Mun-Zooms in a moment, but first want to tell you how good it is to know you’re still alive and well and that your bubble isn’t too far burst (although I already kind of knew – thank you!).

    • Munira February 4, 2013 / 11:06 am

      Yes…I realize I kind of scared everyone with the dark posts I had been putting up here and then disappearing for so long! πŸ™‚
      I’m glad you’re over the rough patch too Sid….I guess you can’t keep a good Sag down too long, even though there have been horrible things happening all over the place, enough to shake anyone up.
      There is an overload of things to talk about, all outside the personal sphere, and I feel none of that belongs on this blog, so I decided to just let it all be.
      It’s great to be back in the blogosphere though πŸ™‚

  5. Kathryn McCullough February 4, 2013 / 3:25 pm

    Oh, Mun, sorry to have been so absent recently. Sara and I are in the process of selling our home and moving to Ecuador. That process has been more consuming than I’d imagined. Thus, my reading lapse. However, I LOVE the pigeon photo–especially the way you’ve framed it and captured the green under the bird’s head. Well done!
    Hugs,
    Kathy

    • Munira February 4, 2013 / 4:23 pm

      I know Kathy, I totally understand and bear no grudges! I promise! πŸ™‚ Hence I appreciate your comment all the more!

  6. indiajones February 5, 2013 / 10:56 am

    Nice relaxing read, sitting in my office, Thanx !

    • Munira February 5, 2013 / 1:31 pm

      Glad you enjoyed it! πŸ™‚

Your turn to say something

