Messes and miracles

Can anyone resist that home makeover show on BBC Lifestyle? The one where the architect dude is given a bunch of money saved up by couples/families in desperate need of improving their living space? I watched it last night after a really long time, and for some odd reason Huz watched it with me! Will wonders never cease? In fact, we were so transfixed by all that skill and expertise, we ended up watching two episodes back to back! I could see Huz was enthralled and as for me, I was just thrilled to watch him enjoy a show I absolutely adore.

The architect and his team went about bashing down walls, changing the lighting, carving out new spaces, tearing down old ones, repainting, refurbishing and rethinking everything, working within the budget they have been given, until the house is completely transformed into something simply marvellous. It’s nothing short of a miracle, and by the end of it, Huz and I are left starry-eyed and glowing with inspiration.

‘I could have been an architect instead of a computer scientist you know,’ says a wistful Huz.

By and large, we are quite happy with our little apartment. It could have been a little bigger, but still, I think it works for us. There is just one room which by default seems to have turned into a bit of a dumping ground for everything that doesn’t belong anywhere else in the house, and that happens to be Huz’s home office. I feel a twinge of guilt everytime I dump something else there, though really, Huz is as much of a pack-rat as I am as far as holding on to useless things is concerned. If I’m the bag lady, he’s the male equivalent….only he collects old busted phones and intercoms and wires. And the boxes they came in.  The logic? They’ll come in handy if we move.

All the furniture in the room is what I would like to call ‘eclectic’, but I know I’m just deluding myself. It’s just a mismatched array of  shelves and desks and cupboards acquired at different times, and I’m ashamed to say, without much thought to cohesion. There is also a stationary bike, a big white much-scribbled-upon board on the wall, a sewing machine piled with clothes that I need to stitch someday, two black and gray revolving chairs, a movable chest of blue and white plastic drawers, a vacuum cleaner and a dustbuster and a rechargeable emergency light, an ironing board (with all its accompaniments), and a portable fan on a stand that we use in areas where the air from the ceiling fan doesn’t reach. There are also cardboard boxes of  archived files in a pile next to Huz’s desk, and a red toolbox jostles for space amidst all the philosophy, literature, computer science, math, art and cookbooks on the bookshelf. Add that to the clutter of oil paints, turpentine, brushes, canvases and other paraphernalia I dabble in, and you have a disaster zone on your hands.

But as I said, we were glowing with inspiration after that makeover show, and I  sat on a revolving chair in the middle of the room in question afterward, while Huz pretended to be an architect and made some ambitious but ultimately impossible-to-implement floor plans on the white board. The ambitiousness wore itself out by degrees as it was of course bound to, but the zeal and the fervour for improvement prevailed and what followed was our own little miracle.

We cleaned out the whole room!

14 thoughts on “Messes and miracles

  1. huzaifazoom April 2, 2010 / 8:50 am

    Boxes are god’s creatures, and we should all love them.

    • munirazoom April 2, 2010 / 9:02 am

      now you know how i feel about bags 🙂

  2. Abbas April 2, 2010 / 10:31 am

    How come i didnt get to see all these spicy details?

    • munirazoom April 2, 2010 / 1:09 pm

      we made sure the door was closed 😉 or maybe the lights were out 😉

  3. inmyneed April 2, 2010 / 10:43 am

    every home needs a ‘mess’ zone… where things are just there – not regulated, regimented or linear.. One could even call it Sanctuary 😀

    • munirazoom April 2, 2010 / 1:11 pm

      watch the show boo, watch the show 😉

  4. Farida. Ht. April 2, 2010 / 12:15 pm

    you sound like a book. i like it. =D

    • munirazoom April 2, 2010 / 1:12 pm

      haha….sounding like a book is better than sounding bookish 🙂

      • Farida. Ht. April 7, 2010 / 8:31 pm

        i just noticed.. in the picture! cell phone case!

  5. aamir82 April 14, 2010 / 8:42 pm

    as em single my room stays messy with dvds, books, cloths lying all over.. this inspire’s me to do a little cleaning this weekend! =D

    • munira April 15, 2010 / 5:46 am

      Go for it dude! 😀

  6. Kathryn McCullough August 1, 2011 / 1:58 am

    What a fun post, Munira! My partner Sara is an architect, by the way, so it’s funny that she loves cooking shows while I love the ones about decorating. And how wild to meet Anthony Bourdain!

    How did your plans turn out?

    Kathy

    • munira August 2, 2011 / 2:16 am

      Thanks for taking out the time to read it Kathy! Really funny to hear about your respective choice of shows, very cool to learn that Sara is an architect 🙂 I think architects are wayyy cool! (as you can probably tell by this post)
      Meeting Anthony Bourdain is another feather in my cap, come to think of it! 😀 Couldn’t believe my eyes when I saw him strolling through the hotel lobby. HAD to dash over and ask to have a picture taken with him 😉 very exciting indeed.
      The office is pretty much the same…..still a mess, mostly. Just rearranged a few things is all. Sigh.
      Don’t you worry though, I have been inspired by you! I’m going to jazz things up with some color….and some art….

Your turn to say something

