Fail Sunday.

This weekend, here’s what we DIDN’T do:

1. Huz didn’t go to Lahore to meet a college friend he hasn’t seen in 18 years.

2. We didn’t go for a long sightseeing drive through interior Sindh with a couple of friends.

3. I didn’t hang out with my sisters and eat khow suey.

5. We didn’t go to T2F for the Bell gig.

6. We didn’t go out for tikkas and Peshawari ice cream.

Instead, we stayed at home.

Amu had a mini meltdown trying to decided what to study from the 6 subjects left in her midterms which continue till the end of this week.

Seeing her on the verge of tears over Math, Huz decided to drop what he was doing and help her solve problems for a few hours until she relaxed with a semblance of understanding and moved on to English Lit. (they’re doing Macbeth)

I gave everyone moral support by doing laundry and making lots of sandwiches and also a big bowl of the Memon version of the Burmese khow suey (which is very delicious too) and pottering around cheerfully, washing, cleaning, putting away stuff. Also fell asleep while reading ‘The Corrections’.

And Fuzzy vowed to be as naughty as he possibly could.

One of these days, i WILL go leave him in the forest without any bread to find his way back ๐Ÿ˜›

20 thoughts on “Fail Sunday.

  1. auntyuta December 12, 2011 / 8:39 am

    Wishing Amu good luck with all her studies. I am sure she’s going to do well with all the support she’s getting from her parents. It’s wonderful how both of you were there for her when she needed you most.
    I am sure ‘The Corrections’ by Jonathan Franzen is a book worth reading. You’ll pick it up some other day when you feel less tired, won’t you?

  2. Munira December 12, 2011 / 9:57 am

    Trying to read at least 10 pages a day Aunty Uta! It’s a great read, but I’m finding reading with reading glasses to be something to get used to.
    Will convey your wishes to Amu, thank you! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Sparks In Shadow December 12, 2011 / 10:41 am

    I’m so glad I never have to help with homework again. (It was humiliating when my daughter got to middle school and I became almost useless.)

    Is Fuzzy your feline friend? If so, he/she and Kitty seem to be on the same wavelength!

    • Munira December 12, 2011 / 9:26 pm

      Haha, I hear you Re!
      Yes, Fuzzy owns us. We’re his slaves ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Bill December 12, 2011 / 12:38 pm

    I agree with Sparks. When my sons entered high school, i was amazed at how much I had forgotten, or more likely, never fully learned. Once they reached college, I was grateful that they had study groups because the opportunity to display my ignorance never presented itself! Remember, there will be more weekends so worry not! HAve a wonderful week Munira!

    • Munira December 12, 2011 / 9:28 pm

      I’m so glad Amu has resorted to study groups already Bill! I don’t mind doing stuff like geography or history or even science , but math? fuggedaboudit!

  5. Kathryn McCullough December 12, 2011 / 2:26 pm

    Gosh, math would give me a meltdown, too. Good luck to Amu with her exams. And holiday hugs to you———-
    Kathy

    • Munira December 12, 2011 / 9:32 pm

      Amu says ‘thanks’ Kathy!

    • Munira December 12, 2011 / 9:41 pm

      Like, totally ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Anonymous December 12, 2011 / 4:27 pm

    I feel like tearing my hair out while teaching my kindergartner simple math…i guess it gets more complicated pver time…:(
    Hang in there…!!!

  7. Munira December 12, 2011 / 9:43 pm

    It sure does…I’m just glad Huz takes it as a personal challenge to make sure she understands….so I don’t have to deal with it! The man reads math books for fun! ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

  8. girl in the hat December 13, 2011 / 2:50 am

    Sometimes doing those little things– nothings, every things– at home feel like the most important things in the world. Amu is so lucky to have parents who can stop and see what she needs.

  9. Munira December 13, 2011 / 10:35 am

    It helps that Huz and I love being at home Anna ๐Ÿ™‚ And those nothings? They’re mostly everything! *cries*

  10. satsumaart December 13, 2011 / 7:06 pm

    Aww, your “fail” day sounds like a lot of days around my house growing up (except our cat wasn’t as domineering ๐Ÿ˜‰ ). I agree with Anna — Amu’s got the best home life a kid could have. ๐Ÿ™‚

    And any version of khow suey sounds delicious to me! ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. Munira December 14, 2011 / 7:10 am

    Oh that Fuzzy. He isn’t domineering, just has a bad habit of peeing where he really shouldn’t! Silly cat ๐Ÿ˜›
    I just hope our friends don’t think we’re a dull old couple because of the ‘fail’ days! Not that we aren’t, just don’t want them to think so, hehe.

    Wish I had a big bowl of any version of khow suey in front of me right now ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    • satsumaart December 15, 2011 / 6:32 am

      Oh, if that’s his claim to fame, Lyapa does the same thing! ๐Ÿ˜‰ So annoying, isn’t it?

      • Munira December 19, 2011 / 3:16 pm

        Very! ๐Ÿ˜›

  12. Kathy December 18, 2011 / 8:09 pm

    I love how you write what you “didn’t do”. Your khow suey sounds wonderful. If you could share some with all of us commenters, we would surely appreciate it!

    • Munira December 19, 2011 / 3:16 pm

      I’d LOVE to share! Imagine having a big bloggers khow suey party. Can’t think of anything more fun!
      Thanks for dropping in Kathy. Love your writing style!

Your turn to say something

